This new rule applies to any passenger who has been to South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, or Zimbabwe in the past 14 days.

A PCR test will be performed upon arrival, followed by a second test on the sixth day of quarantine. Should this be refused, an extra seven days are added to the self-isolation period.

Of course, this does not apply to passengers in transit.

In light of the newly discovered B.1.1.529 variant, EU Commissioner Ursula Von der Leyen has demanded a temporary halt of all flights to and from the region, until there is a better understanding of how severe this mutation is.

Read on: WHO names Covid strain 'variant of concern' as travel bans spread