The recipients of the awards for excellence in teaching are chosen based on student recommendations.

During the official opening ceremony of the new semester on Tuesday, the University of Luxembourg honoured six lecturers and a student association.

The teaching awards are dedicated to professors and associate professors, to PhD candidates and post-docs "who are greatly appreciated for their work", with rector Stéphane Pallage stating that the recipients of this year's awards were "role models" and took students "to the frontier of knowledge, where discoveries are made".

The 2020 awardees are:

  • Martin Theobald and Alfredo Capozucca (Faculty of Science, Technology and Medicine),
  • Anke Müßig and Damien Negre (Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance), and
  • Robert Harmsen (Faculty of Language and Literature, Humanities, Arts and Education).

The Faculty of Humanities, Education and Social Sciences (FHSE) decided to dedicate one of its two awards to all students, lecturers and administrative staff of the FHSE to honour their commitment and hard work since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Erasmus Student Network Luxembourg received the Student Initiative Award for their contribution to the social integration and well-being of students, the promotion of values like selflessness and solidarity, and their support of the community.