Challenges and projects: public bus services have drawn up their yearly report.

In 2018, the Luxembourg City bus network carried around 40,300,000 passengers, covering some 13,600,000 kilometres over 39 routes.

However, a number of improvements could still be made to satisfy passenger expectations, according to a study carried out at the start of the year. Questions were asked about the frequency of use of public transport, the reasons for use (work / school, leisure), the satisfaction rate, the price-quality ratio, comfort, quality of driving, punctuality, as well as the the information available to customers.

In terms of quality of service, user expectations are above all concerned with punctuality, frequency and communication. While eight out of ten users said they were generally satisfied, the main issues raised are delays, particularly affected by construction sites that cause traffic jams and stress. Users, on the other hand, would welcome information available in real time.


Passenger information is to be improved by equipping all buses with a telematic system to transmit journey times in real time. 40 additional bus shelters will also be equipped with a digital screen, which will bring the total number of information points to 300.

Other projects to be tested will be interactive touch stations, digital panels for schedules, digital displays at stops without bus shelters, and a new application for smartphones.

Several municipal buses will also be equipped with free wi-fi networks in 2020.

The development of the electric fleet is also on the agenda. Currently, the AVL bus fleet comprises 143 vehicles, including 18 hybrid buses, 5 plug-in hybrid buses and 120 diesel buses. By 2030, all buses in the capital's bus network are expected to run on electricity. The City of Luxembourg has also planned to purchase 32 electric buses.


The current network for night buses comprises four bus routes(City Night). This will be extended to seven routes, connecting new areas of the City to the City Night Bus network, including Hamm, Pulvermühl, Weimershof, Mühlenbach, Rollingergrund and Beggen, and Dommeldange.