The Luxembourg Theater and Dance Awards take place at the Théâtre des Capucins on Friday.

In collaboration with the Ministry of Culture, the Theatre Federation and Trois C-L, the Theatre Awards take place for the first time, along with the Dance Awards. The ceremony is hosted by Fábio Godinho and narrated by Betsy Dentzer and will be attended by the Grand Duchess and a number of artists.

As only those with an invitation can participate live, the winners will be published online in real time from 8pm, on the Ministry of Culture's Instagram and Twitter profiles.

The Luxembourg Theatre Awards are part of the 2018-2028 cultural development plan, aiming to promote the sector over many years, to increase the value of creative works and the visibility of local artists. The nominees either live in Luxembourg or have a strong link to the Luxembourgish theatre scene.

There are a total of four categories:

"New Talent", with a 3,500 Euro prize.
"Behind the Scenes", with a 4,500 Euro prize.
"On stage", with a 4,500 Euro prize.
"National Theatre Award", with a 10,000 Euro prize.

The winners are selected by a jury set up by the Ministry of Culture.

The Luxembourg Dance Awards were launched in 2011 and take place biannually, honoring local choreographers and dancers. The Theatre Awards are also expected to be a biannual event.