Belgium's Prime Minister Sophie Wilmes announced earlier this Wednesday that the country will fully open its borders on 15 June.

Belgium will reopen its borders to travellers from the EU, Britain and members of Europe's passport-free travel zone on 15 June, the prime minister said Wednesday.

PM Sophie Wilmes announced the measure as Belgium emerges from a three-month coronavirus lockdown, adding that bars and restaurants would reopen on 8 June.

The move comes after Belgian authorities decided on 30 May to partially reopen the Luxembourg-Belgium border to allow family visits and cross-border shopping.