The new measures announced by the Belgian government for travellers to and from Luxembourg are in full effect from Friday.

After being put on a high risk "red list" by Belgian authorities on Wednesday, Luxembourg now faces new restrictions for travels to the neighbouring country.

For Belgian residents, this means that all non-essential journeys (e.g. tourism) to the Grand Duchy are "strongly" discouraged. "From 25 September 2020, the government has decided to replace the travel ban to red zones with an advice strongly discouraging travel to any such territory."

For Luxembourg residents, the new categorisation means that from 4pm this Friday, a stay in quarantine and a test will be mandatory when travelling to Belgium.

Cross border workers and students are exempt from this ruling.

For stays exceeding 48 hours, an identification form must also be filled out.