Jesus Herrada proved his talent and endurance once again, winning the final stage and taking down the Tour de Luxembourg. Luxembourg's Pit Leyder finishes 12th.

The 176km-long final stage of the Tour de Luxembourg took the cyclists from Mersch to Luxembourg City. After 50km, 8 cyclists broke away from the peloton to lead the pack by approximately 3 minutes. It was the Wanty team that pushed the race as the finishing line came closer. Several spectacular attacks and pushes occurred especially during the strenuous "Pabeierbierg" ascent

On the final meters of the race, it was once again Jesus Herrada who attacked at the decisive moment and managed to take down the final stage of the race. Jonathan Hivert came second while Pit Leyder finished third. The Cofidis team thus won 4 out of 5 stages of this year's Tour de Luxembourg. Kevin Geniets also displayed a strong performance and came 13th.

Overall, Jesus Herrada wins the Tour de Luxembourg 25 seconds ahead of Maurits Lammertink and 36 seconds ahead of Andrea Pasqualon. Best Luxembourgish cyclist is Pit Leyder. He finished 12th overall.

The final stage at a glance

© Screenshot

Results: final stage

© Screenshot

Results overall

1 Jesús Herrada (Esp) Cofidis Solutions Crédits 17:41:49
2 Maurits Lammertink (Ned) Roompot - Charles 0:00:25
3 Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Wanty - Gobert Cycling Team 0:00:36
4 Anthony Turgis (Fra) Total Direct Energie 0:00:37
5 Szymon Rekita (Pol) Leopard Pro Cycling 0:00:44
6 Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Wallonie Bruxelles 0:00:47
7 Julien El Farès (Fra) Delko Marseille Provence 0:00:54
8 Jonas Rutsch (GER) Team Lotto - Kern Haus 0:00:54
9 Luca Wackermann (Ita) Bardiani CSF 0:00:58
10 Joaquim Silva (Por) W52 - FC Porto 0:00:59