Effective from Sunday, travellers from Luxembourg are no longer obliged to fill in a digital registration form on entry or provide proof of a negative test or vaccination status. From Tuesday, a flight ban applies to travellers from Portugal and Russia.

In a circular released on Friday, Germany's disease control and prevention agency announced that Luxembourg would no longer be considered a basic risk area for coronavirus infections.

Also on Friday, the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control announced that Luxembourg is now classified as 'green' on the organisation's coronavirus map, following a steady decrease in coronavirus infections over the past few weeks.

Read more: ECDC classifies Luxembourg as 'green' on coronavirus map

Disease control experts at the German agency, the Robert Koch Institute (RKI), announced that new restrictions would be put in place for a number of areas, including a flight ban for travellers from Portugal and Russia.

No longer a 'basic risk'

Travellers from Luxembourg and a number of other European locations will no longer be required to fill out a digital registration form on entry into the Federal Republic of Germany.

In addition, the requirement to provide proof of vaccination, recent infection, or a recent negative Covid test has been dropped. There was already an exemption in place for visits of up to 72 hours to see close family members or provide shared custody.

Other areas no longer considered as 'basic risks' include Denmark, Latvia, Slovenia, parts of Sweden and Croatia, and the mainland European regions of the Netherlands.

Meanwhile, the county of Zadar in Croatia and the countries of Fiji and Rwanda have been added to the list of basic risk areas.

Portugal and Russia - areas of variants of concern

The RKI stated that from Tuesday 27 June, Portugal and Russia would be classified as areas of variants of concern. The former for an initial two weeks, which will then be subject to review.

The Institute believes the two countries are at particularly high risk of infection due to widespread occurrence of variants of the SARS-CoV-2 virus.

As a result, travellers from the two countries will be banned from entering by rail, bus, ship or plane.

For more information on travel restrictions within the European Union see the Re-open EU website.