Amidst various political parties selecting fresh leaders for their parliamentary groups, the Democratic Party (DP) opted for continuity instead.

During the DP parliamentary group meeting on Tuesday, Gilles Baum's candidacy garnered unanimous approval, securing his position as the leader of the parliamentary group comprising 14 MPs until 2028.

Baum, not originally elected in the East constituency during the October elections, assumed his role due to Lex Delles' reappointment as a minister, thereby becoming a member of the Chamber of Deputies.

The 50-year-old former primary school teacher from Junglinster lost nearly 1,000 votes compared to 2018, when he was directly elected.

As for the other governing party, the Christian Social People's Party (CSV), Marc Spautz was elected as the new president of the parliamentary group.