19 mayors in the south of Luxembourg have signed a new collective contract with the trade unions.

Among the signatories of the agreement are the mayors of the municipalities of Esch-sur-Alzette, Dudelange, Differdange, Pétange, Sanem and Käerjeng.

The new collective contract will be valid until 2024 and represents a "strong signal from the municipalities to their employees, especially in these times of crisis", according to the municipality of Esch-sur-Alzette.

As part of the new contract, employees will receive a single bonus of 1% for the years 2022, 2023 and 2024, as well as the guarantee that the permanence bonus will increase gradually, while making use of the exemption system.