Specifically, this is an agreement between the Ministry of Home Affairs and the municipalities for the provision of housing to beneficiaries of international protection or persons eligible for housing benefits.

To date, only 15 municipalities have signed the agreement with the Ministry of Home Affairs. The agreement includes the right to a state subsidy.

Since 2015, 30 dwellings have been made available in the 15 municipalities concerned. This subsidy system has therefore hardly been used by the municipalities.

Among the municipalities that have concluded such an agreement are Bertrange, Betzdorf, Grevenmacher, Kayl, Mamer, and Sanem.

The Ministry of the Interior has disbursed €320,000 for this form of subsidy to municipalities since 2015.

These details were provided by Minister for Home Affairs Taina Bofferding and Minister for Housing Henri Kox, in response to a parliamentary question by MPs Myriam Cecchetti and Nathalie Oberweis from the Left Party (Déi Lénk).