A number of countries have placed travel restrictions on Luxembourg residents due to the increasing number of coronavirus cases. Here's an overview of the current situation.

Beginning with the Grand Duchy's neighbours, Belgium have placed Luxembourg on an "orange" list, under "increased vigilance".

The government has recommended travellers to undergo quarantine measures and get tested, although this is not an obligation. Since 1 August, a form must be filled out by people who want to stay in Belgium for more than 48 hours.

Travellers to Germany must observe quarantine if they do not have a negative test result less than 48 hours old. This is because there have been more than 50 infections per 100,000 inhabitants in Luxembourg during the last week. German citizens have been advised to avoid travel to Luxembourg as the Grand Duchy is considered an at-risk country, although exceptions to the rule have already been initiated.

Both France and the Netherlands have refrained from imposing travel restrictions.

The rest of Europe

Bulgaria can be visited without any restrictions.

Denmark put the Grand Duchy on a list of "banned countries", meaning that no travel will be possible at all at this stage. Tourists from other countries are only allowed if they have made a reservation for longer than 6 nights. Both lists are updated every Thursday on a weekly basis.

Luxembourgish tourists can travel to Austria without a negative test and with no need for quarantine measures.

When travelling to Estonia, a 14-day quarantine period is mandatory.

Only people with a valid reason for entering the country will be allowed in Finland, which can be family or work-related for instance. Quarantine measures are recommended, but not mandatory. These regulations will be in place until 11 August.

Visitors to Greece must complete a form the day before travel.

Travellers to Ireland will also have to complete a form, as well as observing a quarantine period for 14 days, staying at home and avoiding social contact.

Italy remains a restriction-free destination, although a formal travel declaration is advised.

The same goes for Croatia, which only demands that a form be filled out before entering the country.

Latvia has imposed a 14-day quarantine period for Luxembourgish travellers.

Lithuania has banned all travels at this stage. Upon returning from Luxembourg, Lithuanian citizens must self-isolate. The list of countries is updated on a weekly basis every Monday.

Malta has not imposed any travel restrictions for Luxembourg.

Norway considers the Grand Duchy a red-level risk area, meaning that travellers need to quarantine for 10 days. The list of countries is updated at least once every two weeks.

Poland has not imposed any restrictions, neither has Portugal.

In Romania, people need to isolate for 14 days when travelling from Luxembourg. The list of countries without restrictions is updated every week.

Sweden can be accessed without any restriction.

In Switzerland, Luxembourgish travellers need to quarantine for 10 days starting 23 July.

In Slovakia, a negative coronavirus test no older than 96 hours must be presented, otherwise quarantine measures are imposed until a test can be performed. But even in possession of negative test results, the government still imposes a 5-day quarantine period, paired with another test done in Slovakia.

Slovenia considers the Grand Duchy a red-level risk, meaning that 14 days of quarantine are imposed by the government.

Every tourist travelling to Spain needs to fill out a form before entering the country.

No travel restrictions have been imposed by the Czech Republic. The same goes for Hungary.

The United Kingdom has imposed a 14-day quarantine period.

Cyprus has increased Luxembourg's risk level to "C", meaning that travel is no longer possible. Negative test results and a 14-day quarantine period are imposed for Cyprus nationals when returning from Luxembourg.

Further information on travel restrictions across European countries can be found on the following EU website.

This article is only concerned with tourist travels. Many of the countries listed above have other regulations for business trips or family related visits. We recommend that you familiarise yourself with the respective safety regulations of each destination before travelling.

Most recent update: 3 August 2020.