Monday marked the first session of the Permanent Council for the Luxembourgish Language (CPLL) under new president Myriam Welschbillig.

Minister of Education Claude Meisch thanked both Welschbillig and the new commissioner for the Luxembourgish language Marc Barthelemy for their continued engagement in the promotion of Luxembourgish. Max Kuborn, former journalist and Luxembourgish teacher for adults, joined the CPLL as its newest member.

During the first session, the CPLL worked through the proposal for Luxembourgish spelling, which will then be discussed in an open consultation.